BC Boards

End behaviour for A-Frame

Cody used to do a running contact because that was all I knew and nobody told me there were better options. 9/10 times he would hit the contact but I wanted something better. He died before I realised there were actually better options.

I heard about 2 on 2 off just before I started training Delta and Charlie so I set about doing the foundation work with them. Charlie took to it immediately (much to my surprise, he doesn't have much going on upstairs) but Delta just wanted to lie down on the target and even the best timed clicks wouldn't stop it. One night a different trainer came over to me and suggested doing 4 on the floor with her as she insisted on lying down at the end. I wasn't entirely sure as I had heard bad reports about it, but I started doing the foundation work for that and she took to it really well. We have now hit the wall in terms of her training though. She has generalised the behaviour to be "find a patch of grass somewhere near the end of the contact and lie down" which means she is just randomly lying down and sometimes not even facing the right direction. It hs also thrown her teeter behaviour out the window as instead of running to the end, dropping, and riding it down; she is running to the end, hanging on for dear life, then lying on the grass next to it.

I can go back to basics and retrain it but Im not sure I want to. I can see me having to retrain it every 6mnths and I can see Delta getting really frustrated with it as well. You can see her thinking "I lay down on the grass like I am supposed to, what was wrong with that?" Unfortunately there is no way to explain to her that this bit of grass is better than that bit over there.