BC Boards

Pit Bull Ban

DTrain

I live in Ontario where there is a pit bull ban. The exact area I live in seems to have quite a number of pits bulls, I see them every day. In fact in my area we see a large number of dogs of that type, PB's, ROT's etc. Ontario and most communities have problems appllying the measures of the ban and they spend most of their time in court over this issue. I am watching to see how this turns out. I have spoken with the Mayor of my city about this and other dog / dog owner matters. I firmly believe that any dog of any breed that attacks any creature for any reason is a problem dog. In virtually every case I have looked into concerning dog attacks they have happened for a number of reasons but at the top of the list is owner handling and training and that is the area I focus on. There is a mentality to dog owners and we all know this so I shall leave it at that. I once was a dog trainer but I am now a people trainer. That is to say I train people to understand and manage their dogs and this has been most welcomed in my community. It is amazing how many people who own dogs have no knowledge of canine behavior. I am told frequently by owners that their dog is just being protective and we all know what that behavior really is. Some of these owners are very proud of that behavior. I am also asked by owners what they can do to stop their dog from aggressive behavior. I find in every case where an owner has a problem that the dog is the dominant creature in their home. My training starts from that point. I encourage everyone to get involved in their community and do something positive with your dog laws and by-laws. We are talking in my community about making it mandatory for dog owners ( the starting point is problem dogs ) to take a course. By the way the only dog that has ever biten me is a BC, my own dog and a very bad bite and a sneak attack. He only did it once and he is now my best dog and the best example I use to show people a well tr