BC Boards

My Collie and I

Hi all

I'm Tonia and I have an eight month old BC called Leah. She is mad as they come and I have great fun walking her round the various lakes we visit. She is quite submissive yet sometimes she takes a disliking to some dogs and will snap. Is this a typical Collie trait?

She loves to chase cars which is something I am desperate for her to get out of. God forbid should some freak accident happen and goes under the wheels of a car :D She really is bad with this. Also, it doesn't help when it comes to getting her to walk to heel. Having a nightmare of a time training her to walk beside me and not pull. I have used a body harness which didn't really do much. She still pulled. I find the halti (the one that fits over the face - muzzle type thing) is more effective at combating her pulling.

If anybody has any tips or any advice to offer me it will be received gratefully!

I'm no expert but I don't think it's typical BC behavior to snap at dogs, I think that's just a dog thing. Some just don't like certain types of dogs. The best way to get over that is to socialize socialize socialize. As for the chasing cars this. Man that would scare me. What we would do when the dogs would pull towards something passing, usually a person or another dog, is sit them down and keep their attention with tricks and/or treats. She won't want to stay still for a while but just keep her attention and eventually she may just sit and wait for her treat as soon as she hears a car. Be an assertive leader when you walk and try and keep her at a heal, there's ways to keep their attention on you at all times when healing too. A couple trainers I've talked to have said to hold a spoon of peanut butter or a treat in your hand close to your chest so the dog is always looking up at you while you walk. The golden ticket for us was choke collars. Not to choke them all the time but as a quick correction. One pop of the collar with a firm no/heel and the dogs are right back i