BC Boards

Frisbee Fiasco

I have a 14 mo. old border collie named Bridgette, we've had her since she was about 1 mo. old. Recently we decided that we'd train her to fetch a frisbee instead of a tennis ball, but she ignores it completely. She wont even pick the frisbee up. Does the type of frisbee matter? it's a hard plastic one, I don't know if it's the texture of it she hates, or if she is just not interested. This is my first border collie, I'm still learning how to train them. They are so smart! ahhh. Anyone have any advice?

- sorry, i posted this in the wrong section, she isn't a working dog >.< I'm new here, my apologies.

I have done a small amount of frisbee play with my dogs in the past and found that harder frisbees can hurt either when they are caught and/or when they get little "points" on them from the dog's teeth. I found that a softer frisbee (fabric or softer plastic) is more encouraging for a younger or newbie dog as it's less likely to hurt.

Please remember that not all dogs enjoy the same games and toys. Your girl may just not ever be interested in a frisbee. Try rolling it on the ground initially rather than throwing it. Also make sure that it is obviously "yours" and not "hers", and use some behavior on your part that will make it more interesting and enticing (show it to her, act excited about it, put it away, and repeat over some hours or days, for example).

By the way, you might want to check out threads concerning tennis balls, if you are not aware already. The silica in the fabric on the regular tennis balls (along with the dirt and grit that the fabric accumulates) can be very wearing on teeth. If you chose to use tennis balls, use good ones that are intended for dogs and are not made with wearing material on the surface or, better yet, use balls that have no fabric covering to retain particles that will also wear teeth unnecessarily.

Best wishes, and Eileen will probably move this to the section where it belongs.