BC Boards

Hi I am New and Have Questions

Hi there! My name is Giuli and I am 20 years old. I live in St. Louis, MO with my boyfriend (Tim), cat (Zephyr) and three ferrets (Mizu, Samson, and Delilah). I am a pre-vet student and while my future focus as a vet will be on ferrets, i've always had an interest in dogs, border collies specifically.

I've read about border collies since I was 16 years old, and their versitility and intelligence has always fascinated me and drawn me to them. I am a really hands on pet owner, my future career will be dedicated to pets and currently my whole day revolves around school and my animals. My cat and three ferrets all eat a raw diet supplemented with whole prey (like mice, rats, fish, etc). My pets are my life. Having a dog that I could take to agility trials, herding trials, obedience competitions has always appealed to me. My ex-boyfriend had a very sweet but timid lab mix and it always bummed me out that I couldnt go do activities (flyball, agility, etc) with his dog because the dog was too timid.

I know that border collies are VERY high energy and require alot of attention. While that may be bad for some people, that is exactly what draws me to them. I WANT a dog that demands attention. I WANT a dog that I can take to do dog sports like some people take their kids to soccer practice. I want that so badly. I dont just want a dog to sit in the house with me and keep me company.

I currently live in a one bedroom apartment. I work about 30 hours a week and go to school full time (about 12 credit hours). My boyfriend works and attends school the same as I do. Financially I know I am not stable enough for a border just yet (I just moved into my new apartment), and to be honest I dont know if the time I have availble would suit a dog of this energy level and intelligence.