BC Boards

"Silly" question, request for reassurance/neuter today

powerfulgazelle

Okay...maybe this gets filed under "you get what you pay for":

Dear dog is scheduled for neuter today.

We with hold food after midnight and present him at 730 AM to the Banfield clinic.

(Yes, we opted for the Banfield vet, because, although there are a few things I am growing to dislike about the front office staff and business practice, the vet is okay.)

I asked for a call from the vet to let me know how things went post-op. The receptionist declined, telling me they had four other surgeries set for today (implying that the vet is too busy, I guess), but said the "pet nurse" or receptionist would call to let us know after the operation.

First, I am a registered nurse. For humans. If the staff are credentialed veterinary professionals, they should use their appropriate titles---registered vet tech or whatever. But that is OT....

They close at 5PM today. Dog has been NPO since midnight. As of 1:30PM, DH called to check on dear dog to learn that "a dental surgery and a euthanasia came in" so Sollers' surgery had not been started yet.

Is it me? I guess from what we were told, Sollers' surgery was to be in the AM, to give him time to recoup under their observation in the kennel...

I do not want to bring home a dog that had GA at 4PM...when the office shuts and is closed on Tuesdays....

Am I being picky?

No, I don’t think you’re being too picky.

If my vet office said “pet will be ready at such-and-such a time” I would expect that. If not, there’d better be a good reason. Outside of very extenuating circumstances, i.e., life & death emerg surgery, your pet should be ready to come home when you expected him to be ready.