BC Boards

When to trial?

Hi, Bev!

I have a complex set of questions about training and trialing. Haley and I have been working together for 2 1/2 years. She's my first dog, and she's got a lot of potential, but we both still need training. She's about 4, and I am the only person to have ever handled her on sheep.

Her outrun tends to be a little flat about half the time, and she can be very pushy when fetching or driving. She lacks some confidence and does not have a lot of push to move sheep off a bucket of grain. On the other hand, she's very confident working in small spaces and with obstacles. Her outrun's gotten better over the past 6 months with a lot of work, but it's not as consistent as I want it to be.

We recently entered an AHBA HTAD I level at a trial nearby. We had trouble in the first run with the pen. She ran the sheep around the pen several times and gripped. I called the run (never done that before!), and was told by my primary instructor and the judge that I should not have because I had enough points to qualify since I made my 2 attempts at the obstacle. The reason I called it was I could tell we were not working as a team at that point, and I will not settle for anything less than that. Our second run was nicer, with less push, more give on her part, and even though we only got 4 of the 5 sheep through the first obstacle, I was much happier with our work together. We got the pen with minimal frustration on her part, did the mid-field hold, and exhausted the stock. Even though I know we could have done better, the second effort was significantly improved from the first. We even received complements about her work.

I told my second instructor about this, and was told that I should not be trialing her yet - that in effect, she needs a lot more work and I should not strive for anything less than perfection. Until I reach a point where she can do it right every time, we should just continue training and wait to trial.