BC Boards

Blasting in during outruns

Guest Sharon S.

Guest Sharon S.

Hi Lori,

I'm relatively new to herding and have a 2 year old BC that has worked livestock for a total of only 40 hours starting at 6 months old. (We have to drive up to 6 hours each time we rent stock).

My dog is very willing, obedient and gentle dog (has never gripped in his life) who has excellent balance and is showing talent at driving, but who has absolutely NO natural outrun: even a rounded 50' outrun is a struggle for him. I know that many dogs come in flat at the end of their outruns, but this is a somewhat different story, as you'll see... I would love to hear your advice on how I might eradicate the problem that I've created!

Until recently, our only access to livestock was in a small arena or round pen--with VERY heavy pygmy goats and occasionally heavy sheep. We didn't have a set out person, so every outrun was to stock that were pressed against the opposite fence.

My dog quickly developed the habit of doing a flat outrun ending at the fence right next to the stock, at about 10 o'clock. The knee-knocker stock would then leave the fence and trot over to me. If the stock didn't hustle toward me when he arrived, he would gallop between the fence and the stock and peel them off that way. This being my first BC puppy, I was thrilled that he had invented a way to get the stock off the fence. I spent all my energy widening his outrun up to the 10 o'clock point, and none worrying about how he was rehearsing "blasting past the sheep" during the "lift" portion.

Starting this past spring, we began working in an open field with lighter sheep, hoping to work towards Nov-Nov. But my dog is still acting like they're against a fence.