BC Boards

Outrun/Lift-Fetch, continued (sort of)...

Guest GDavis

Guest GDavis

I'd like to follow up on the outrun topic from a week or so ago, the query & responses were very helpful for me. And Diana, I hope you will update us on your progress, what you tried, what worked, etc., and also on the "Fetch" thread. Or email me if you'd rather. It just sounds like I've had some similar experiences & problems to work on, although I'm sure I'm on a more beginner's level than you, but I'd love to hear what worked for you. Thanks.

Okay, I should probably give a little background of what training Kate (& myself) has been like so far. I wasn't able to take her to sheep until she was 2 years old. Since that time (1½ years now) she's only been to sheep 20 times. It's only the last 3 times that it's been just me & my dog & the sheep. All the other times were lesson or clinic settings.

Right from the start Kate was keen to work and showed some good qualities and good power. Her second time out she was wearing the sheep nicely down the field behind me. Of course, young dog tendencies would kick in now and again -- getting bored and wanting to create excitement, etc. But she did everything without hesitation or doubt in the beginning. She would immediately run down and bring back breakaways. Her fifth time out was on a flock of about 50 sheep and some goats, instead of just the 3 to 6 sheep she'd worked with before. No problem, she was on it without the slightest hesitation, stayed out wide and controlled them nicely, no diving in or scattering, and when a goat tried to turn on her and face her down, she got him to change his mind very quickly and rejoin the flock, without nipping or gripping.