BC Boards

URGENT questions

Okay, I will feel EXTREMELY better if I put my sheep up at night. I worry about Coyotes and dogs. How big an area do I need for 5-7 Dorper/St. Croix/Kathadin mixed ewes? I am putting this together TODAY, so I really need to know. Folks at Agway are NOT sheep folks, so they don't know. Basically, too, I want them in this for the first few hours when they get here, so they can settle in a bit.

Thanks

Julie

The guy at my Southern States has been right on with sheep advice. He's a real nice guy.

You could ring him. It's exactly the kind of question I've been asking him for the last two months and he's been happy to oblige.

By the way, from a non-expert's perspective, if I was in a hurry and worried, I'd buy 4 hog panels and o ring them together. If you have to drive some t posts half down each side for support, it's pretty easy and you know you can get it done before they show. I think it would be fine for 7 if you are only using it temporarily.

I was going to say four cattle panels--taller than hog panels. It will be basically a dry lot for your sheep, so I'd be inclined to throw them some hay when they're in there at night. I would put a t-post at each corner and perhaps in the middle of three sides and then leave the fourth side without to use as a gate. Or cut the 4th panel in half, use a t-post halfway down as your "gate post" and use the second half as the gate. Around here cattle panels are about $15 each and t-posts are just under $4 each, so total cost for supplies would be around $100 (you'll need something to connect cattle panels to t-posts--field fence clips *might* work).

J.

Sheep can squeeze through cattle panels, so I would wrap the bottm in some kinf of wire, too. For tying/attaching, I just keep a roll of decent-guage wire in my truck and wire pliers, and can tie anything to anything!

Anna