BC Boards

Hi, Newbie here

My family just got a 3 month old smooth coated, BC last Friday.

Now before I get the "oh foul newb in the BC world" :rolleyes: Let me say, I have had some BC experience. I've babysat BCs before and I spend more time with my next door neighbor's BC than they do. I've loved then for their intelligence and energy!

The lady we got him from found him as a 3-4 week old pup with his eyes still shut. She bottle feed and babied him along. She also trained him quite well, He knew a few comands and was house trained.(for the most part :D ) HE loves to herd our 5 weeks old kittens, it is the cutest thing!

Now, we all love our "Samwise the brave" (formerly Goober) to pieces, but I'm wondering where to take his training. My 8 year old son has Autism and I would like to train Sam as a helper for him. Flyball sounds like a lot of fun to learn for both of us. I'm a photographer and would like to train him to help on hikes, carry cameras and water bottles on hikes, etc. I walk and play with him twice in the day and the kids keep him occupied during the afternoon and evenings, But I worry about him getting bored.

Any advise on what training would be good?

As soon as my new camera comes tomorrow I'll get my avatar and siggy up with Samwise. :D

Welcome to the boards. Goober :rolleyes: sounds like a great little pup. I wouldn't start working a 3 month old pup to awful hard by carrying to much heavy stuff (or carry your expensive camera stuff either) lol. Maybe teach him "shake" "wave" "high five" "roll over" "stand up" "fetch" and so on. I would keep going over "sit" "stay" and "down" to make sure he has them down pat. Good luck with your little guy.

Can't wait to see pictures.

Welcome to the boards. Expect to find great advice and meet wonderful people here. Can't wait to see pics!!

Hi shutterbunce , Welcome i have a 4 month old bc pup called mack.