BC Boards

Dog woke up and wasn't able to move back end!

Lindzey

I only have a brief moment to type as I am currently at school (I am a HS student for those who do not know of me).

About 5 minutes prior to leaving for school this morning, I checked on my dogs before I left and went to feed/water. I called to Just About (about two-years old, slightly overweight) and he was laying on his side, head up, near the gate. He struggled to sit/stand, and I put him back in the "down" position.

I hurridly went to feed my other dog (Almost, just over a year old). I felt on Just About's back end, hips, and spine. I moved joints and extended his leg. He made no inclination he was in pain. I got him to stand up, but he was in a LARGE amount of discomfort as it seemed he was keeping his back end low.

I carried him the rest of the way in, placed him on a comforter in a back room, and then did another quick test for discomfort in his back end. No result.

My mom/dad/myself cannot get him to the vet until after school, WHICH WILL BE DONE! Before leaving I gave him a small amount of water (not too much as he'll have to get up and go to the bathroom, exactly what I don't want) and continued to pat him.

I cried pretty hard after stoking his head and his stomach, and cried at school. As of now I am still upset by this and praying he is just sore.

Please help with anything this could be! We are not sure of his parents/genetics as Just About was purchased as an 8-week pup from a rescue shelter.

He did not seem uncomfortable yesterday, but did not jump around when I went to play, only carried a toy in his mouth. I didn't think anything of this.

Thanks for your time and your willingness to help.

~Lindzey

I hope everything will be fine!