BC Boards

"Borders" "Herding" "BC"

The thread "Does it bother you to hear borders" made me wonder after reading a post made that a member tries not to use the word "herding" very much, and the term "BC".

Whats wrong with them? I'm new to the whole border collie world, but I use the term BC, herding, borders all the time. And I'm very much against the breeding/showing of non-working border collies.

Just curious.

I think it's just how a person views these words.

To me, it is a "collie" which is a stock-working dog. A "border" is what an AKC person tends to use to refer to the breed, Border Collie (any "Border Collie" - conformation, performance, pet, stockdog).

As for herding, inherently, I don't find it an offensive word. However, as it is used often by (again) AKC folks, it's often part of "going herding" (a sport, a hobby, an amusement, a pastime with one's dog that's fun) or the "herding group" (and, of course, any dog in that group is a "herding dog" and therefore is equated with a dog that would be useful on stock, when that is often far from the truth).

BC is simply an abbreviation to me, a quick way to write "Border Collie" just like using someone's initial(s) for their name.

It's a personal preference sort of thing that, to me, indicates where you are coming from with regards to the dogs and where your interests lie, even though what you say may be simply a matter of ignorance or what you (these are all the generic "you") have picked up from others. Again, it is an indicator of your "group" and your associations.

IMO.

"Borders" is a pretty consistent indicator of someone who believes herding is incidental to border Collies. I've never heard it used by a rancher, or someone with a commitment to herding BCs.

BC doesn't bother me in the least. I don't always feel like typing the extra letters.